Skip to content
September 17, 2012 / josephesque

An open letter to Rob Delaney (@robdelaney):

An open letter to Rob Delaney (@robdelaney):

Rob,

As a fan of your comedy since I joined Twitter in September of 2009, I have watched you grow as a comedian and writer throughout the last three years. Your career has been an open book for those of us who have followed you for any substantial amount of time, we have collectively felt the joy and delight of your success. And you deserve it. You’re the nice guy with the occasional raunchy joke, and whatever angle you choose to approach at any given time, you’re goddam funny. Your Tumblr account was one of the only things that kept me a member of Tumblr as long as I was, for I’d enjoy reading your longer pieces even more than your ‘140 character or less’ jokes. The posts, articles, and political commentaries have always been spot on, sharp, witty, and very well-written. All that said, I’ve come to appreciate you more as a writer over the years. You’ve really refined your craft and developed a powerful, unique voice.

Recently, I stumbled across the fact that you signed a book deal with Random House. This grabbed my interest, because A) I am a writer, B) I am the president of the California State University, Fullerton Creative Writing Club which has events and such, just an hour south of your Los Angeles residence, and additionally I am the Editor-in-Chief of a DASH Literary Journal, a growing publication that bragged inclusions of artists and writers such as Tara McPherson, Ben Loory, and Brendan Constantine in our last publication. To that point, I should mention I am in the unique position to invite you to be a part of our Spring publication as a featured writer… we’d include an interview along with whatever writing you choose to submit… even a chapter from your pending book would be amazing, if you wanted to be a part of it but would prefer not to write anything new for this. This would come to fruition in the early months of 2013 if you would so choose to contribute (and I am offering this to you now).

Next, and more immediately, we have an annual event on campus that will be taking place November 2, in which we invite industry professionals (writers, publishers, agents, presses, etc.) to come and present whatever they so choose. Dinner is provided, and there is a Q&A session at the end of the night. The event is free, incredibly fun, light-hearted, and enlightening. Normally, I wouldn’t do something like this (I never have before), especially with such a now well-known celebrity… but as a comedy writer venturing into the world of book-writing, it seems astounding and like you’d have a lot to share. Also, we’d pay you… not a ton of money, but what our council is willing to give us, which I think is a fair amount for a Friday night.

We have never had a comedy writer contribute to our event or DASH Literary Journal, so it would be breaking new ground (and long overdue).

I must say there are selfish reasons to invite you as well… the attendance of the event would surely fill capacity if a name like yours was to come to campus, and the more people there, the more journals, chapbooks, shirts, etc. we would sell. This would increase our club revenue, and benefit us greatly. It may be a little ridiculous asking someone of your stature to join our humble event, but really when it comes down to it, I had to figure… I have direct access to you through Twitter, so why the hell not? You’re probably busy, but I felt I had nothing to lose here.

I hope this letter finds you and you find interest in any of what I say. But whatever works, like I said, this is a ‘why the hell not?’ move, and if nothing comes of it, nothing comes of it and we all go on living our lives, just minutes older.

All the best to you,

Joe Blair

(Pres, CSUF Creative Writing Club / EIC, DASH Lit Journal)

josephblair@csu.fullerton.edu

@josephesque

p.s. Here’s a picture of feet shoes:

Image

