Skip to content
September 16, 2014 / josephesque

Here I Am, Again

Hi there.

.

IMG_0632

Here I am. Here you are. Here we are. I’ve decided to return to you. A lot has happened since I’ve last managed this site, and I thought you might be interested in a short explanation, and it goes something like this.

.

A little over a year ago, my wife and I uprooted our big little family from Southern California and we planted ourselves in Portland, Oregon. The transition was rocky and our day to day felt like we were trying to navigate through rolling earthquakes (ask me about it some day if you’re ever bored). In order to normalize our lives, we focused on things we wanted to do, while still managing things we had to do. This left us very busy. While my wife was developing and insane, gorgeous, and delicious garden, I was a tenderfoot exploring the homebrewing community. We introduced some chickens (who are now providing wonderful eggs for our consumption) to our home, and we became very active in our community and church.

.

While this was all happening, I began writing for NAILED Magazine. I was grateful to be welcomed to the NAILED family and one of their Editors-in-Chief, Carrie Seitzinger began publishing my writings. I haven’t been writing like I should (yes, I’m aware this is a self-regulated “bar”), but this was a great way to keep me rolling and not getting caught up completely by office life (new city/new job = insanity) and home life as amateur, albeit successful, homesteaders. Writing has always been important to me and it would be a crime (yes, I know this is a self-governed law), to simply stop, which would have been very easy to do after acquiring my MA in English and needing a vacation from reading and writing at the same time we were spending all our mental and physical resources on our 1,000 mile move.

.

Anyhow, Carrie has since made me an Editor for NAILED Magazine, and my writings are now posting under my own name. This is very exciting to me, but I don’t want my first several articles to get lost since, while I was the author, it’s under Carrie’s editor profile. So this drove me to once again put everything here in one place (as was my original plan when developing this thing). It’s a good time for me to return, and while there’s a very good chance this may hit very few eyes, if any, I thought my return to the wordpressphere should be prefaced with an open letter to you.

.

So here I am, and here you are, and we are, all together sharing this moment.

.
All the best to you, and thanks for taking time out of your day to read my ramblings.

.
JB

